The coastal heaven of Honnavar & Kumta.

I hail from a quaint little town on the coastline of Karnataka, towards the Maharashtrian border. Although it is traditionally required for us to call our father’s hometown as our native, I spent most of my childhood (and adulthood – I got married and also had my son here <3) at Kumta, my mother’s hometown.

My memories of Kumta date back to 1996, when I was just a very keen toddler , exploring the ins and outs of our verandah and compound. Getting astonished when cows just come by our windows to graze the dewy grass outside, or when Aai (My mom) used to draw out pails of icy water from the wells to bathe us. Playing with my neighbor’s son, and running barefoot in the scorching May heat, but not bothering to check for any blisters on my sole. Fond memories of my Grandma’s cooking and garland making sessions are just as fresh as the jasmines we used to tie together.

From a traveler’s point of view it is a beach lover’s paradise. White sand beaches, clear blue skies make this the most perfect and idyllic summer vacay destination. I will list the places you must not forget to visit when you are at Kumta.

  1. Kumta Beach.
  2. Hotel Moonlight – For scrumptious seafood, sourced and prepared locally in Konkani Style.
  3. Simla Ice creams – Try the iconic Gadbad here šŸ™‚
  4. Kumta Darbar – Will you be surprised if I tell you that you can get really delish Shawarma rolls at Kumta?? This place has drool worthy sharwarmas!
  5. Mirjan Fort
  6. Go Green Resort – Yummy food, boating in man made canals, and a rock garden nearby. This is such a lovely day trip!
  7. Gokarna – Who doesn’t know Gokarna?? I will definitely do a separate write up on this destination.
  8. Jog falls – one of the largest waterfalls in Karnataka. Soak up the views, loves!

Go on then, don’t you think it is time for some backpacking? šŸ˜‰

Leave a comment